The Mesmertronologues
“Saint Louis gives young men the fear…” H.S.T (R.I.P)

Wanna buy My Mighty Steel Steed?

dsc08407
So I’m selling my 74 LeTour. I’ve been staring at it too long hanging in my hallway unridden. I really love this bike, but since I bought my Steamroller I haven’t ridden it but a handful of times. And you know what? That’s a goddamn shame. This fucker hauls ass. Maybe I shouldn’t get all sentimental about it but I’ve been drinking a bit and watching some old Kurosawa movies so I’m feeling nostalgic. This bike for real kicks all asses. I have toasted every person I ever raced on this thing. If I remember correctly I even beat Janet McBride on it, which I think I was never supposed to tell anyone about but that’s what she gets for trying to race me on her big girl bmx cruiser. Glad she never reads this or she would probably set me on fire when I wasn’t looking. But yeah every tool on a $3000 bike rolling around the city or Forest Park in full spandex got their shit handed to them by this old american steel. You can fully lay it out around corners and feel the metal give ever so slightly to accommodate your weight and angle, keeping you just high enough to keep pedaling without eating shit and sliding across the pavement. You know what, the more I think about it, maybe I should just sell the Surly and build a nice wheelset to put on this one. Oh whatever, I already posted it to CRAIGSLIST so I guess I’ll just wait and see what happens.

Wanna buy a bike?

Ok, well I did some digging and found that the LeTour replaced the SuperSport in late 1973. So this bike is 10 years newer than I thought. Whoops. So for now I’m going with 74, until I find some new information that tells me it’s from the 1300’s and used to belong to Ghenghis Khan as his main pillaging bike.

No Responses to “Wanna buy My Mighty Steel Steed?”

Leave a Reply

